Posted by: Kevin Perry | May 19, 2010

Who is a fan of Cape Cod, MA? I am.

I said in my last blog that I would go personal this week so I am going to share my favorite past time – cooking and eating! Last weekend I celebrated my ten year anniversary and I must say I am a very lucky man. My wife is a saint to be married to a guy like me, so whenever I get the chance, I like to take her out to dinner. Cape Cod is a special place for us as we got married there and since we know the area well I thought I would share some of our favorite spots from Wellfleet to Provincetown.

    Provincetown:

A very fun and vibrant town, full of art galleries, interesting knickknack shops and all-round great seaside town. Do the whale watch in May/June. The feeding season is in full force and you will see some incredible whales. There are three main restaurants you have to visit:

Front Street: Believe it or not the duck is phenomenal. I sat next to a guy from England who said that this is the best duck he has ever had…I was a bit skeptical, but went for it. It is the best and worth trying. The ambiance is very cool and a fun atmosphere.

The Red Inn: Very romantic, a must visit if you are celebrating a birthday or anniversary. Cocktails can be had on the deck overlooking the water and the view from every table in the restaurant is perfect. Try the lamb…it is delicious and the bread bowl artichoke and lobster fondue…you won’t leave full.

Ross’ Grill: The tourists have not picked up this gem. It only seats nine so make a reservation, but it has a bar in the middle of the restaurant and an outdoor patio right on the water. Try the calamari appetizer– Very good.

    Wellfleet:

Another great seaside town. The famous Wellfleet Oyster festival in October is a must visit on the Cape. Plus, you get $1 oysters, very fresh – a very cool time.

Mac’s Shack: Since I lived in Japan, I’d like to think I know a thing or two about sushi. This restaurant does it very well. Fine coastal cuisine, sushi, and raw bar, served in a historic post and beam colonial in the heart of Wellfleet. They don’t take reservations but they added a canopy outside so you can sit at the outdoor bar while you wait for your table.

Pearl: Located in historic Wellfleet Harbor, this is a complete renovation of the former Captain Higgins restaurant. What’s cool is that they have revamped the whole interior and brought back the origins of the original post and beam oyster shack. Panoramic views of the harbor on three different decks. Try the pan steamed mussels with coconut milk and pineapple. You can’t go wrong with the raw bar either.

If you ever visit the Cape ring me up. I have many other cool spots to visit, but I didn’t want to make this blog too long ;-)! I could go on forever.

My Next blog – Why is Lionbridge calling this new technology Real-Time Translation? Isn’t it just MT?

Leave a Reply

Categories

